Christmas Special (Lisa Kröger & Melanie R. Anderson)

About Lisa Kröger

Lisa Kröger is the author of Monster, She Wrote and host of the Know Fear podcast. She has a Ph.D. in English; her scholarly interests include Gothic and horror literature, particularly women writers of the genre. Her short fiction has appeared in Cemetery Dance magazine and Lost Highways: Dark Fictions from the Road (Crystal Lake Publishing, 2018). You can find out more about her at www.lisakroger.com or across social media.

About Melanie R. Anderson

Melanie R. Anderson is an assistant professor of English at Delta State University in Cleveland, MS. She is the author of Spectrality in the Novels of Toni Morrison (Tennessee Press, 2013). She is the co-author of Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror and Speculative Fiction (Quirk, 2019), and she co-hosts the Know Fear Podcast.   

Join us for a Christmas Special in the online fairy tale salon SERIES with Award-winning authors, Lisa Kröger & Melanie R. Anderson.

What: A one-hour zoom session with authors Lisa Kröger & Melanie R. Anderson, This special session focuses on  the women who wrote the Christmas ghost stories popular in Victorian/Edwardian times. It includes a short reading from their book Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror & Speculative Fiction and a Q&A session. A signed copy of Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror & Speculative Fiction will be raffled off to one lucky winner!

Who, me? Yes, you! The salon is strictly limited to 20 guests.

When: 

  • US/Canada: Friday, 4 December [5pm Pacific Time, 6pm Mountain Time, 7pm Central Time, 8 pm Eastern Time]
  • Australia: Saturday, 5 December (noon AET)

How much?

  • $US 10.00,
  • A block of ten seats have been reserved for previous attendees at the fairy tale salons.

Bookings! Reserve your place in the December salon by email at thestoriedimaginarium@gmail.com. We look forward to seeing you there!

2019 Bram Stoker Award® Winner for Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction


2020 Locus Award Winner for Non-Fiction


A 2019 Booklist Editors’ Choice in Arts and Literature


Check out the Monster She Wrote podcast–21 episodes of sheer brilliance!


“Inspired not only in the way it explores what the off-kilter, the monstrous and the half-known has meant to women for centuries but also in how it illuminates the often unusual lives of the women who crafted these dark worlds.”—BookPage

“The curatorial quality of a literary anthology, the historical rigor of an academic text, and the pleasure of a picture book.”—Tor.com

“An engrossing, eye-opening encyclopedia on the pioneering women who went against convention and broke down barriers to mold the horror fiction genre, thereby inspiring generations of writers and even filmmakers with their works.”—Geeks of Doom

Leave a Reply