Workshop Registration: The Season of the Bear

Registration for Intersections in Fairy Tales and Myth is now OPEN. The course will begin in March and run through May (2023).

Currently, the proposed schedule is as follows:

SECTION I: Mondays from 9-11:30 am (PST), 10 am-12:30 pm (MST), 11 am-1:30 pm (CST), 12-2:30 (EST); 6-9:30 pm (CET)

SECTION II: Tuesdays from 4:30-7 pm (PST), 5:30-8 pm (MST), 6:30-9 pm (CST), 7:30-10 pm (EST); Wednesdays 10:30 am-1 pm (AEDT)

SECTION III: Mondays from 9-11:30 am (PST), 10 am-12:30 pm (MST), 11 am-1:30 pm (CST), 12-2:30 (EST); 6-9:30 pm (CET)

SECTION IV: Thursdays from 4:30-7 pm (PST), 5:30-8 pm (MST), 6:30-9 pm (CST), 7:30-10 pm (EST); Wednesdays 10:30 am-1 pm (AEDT)

Schedule subject to change based on participant availability. Daylight Savings Time starts on March 12 on November 6 in the United States in Canada and on March 26 in Central Europe. Daylight Savings Time ends in Australia on April 2. For conversion check https://www.worldtimebuddy.com/. If there is enough interest, we may add an additional workshop on Friday afternoon or on the weekend.

Note: All sections are limited to six participants plus the workshop facilitator. Inquire for additional times & days.

THE SEASON OF THE BEAR workshop is twelve weeks long and includes five modules. Participants are encouraged to write a poem, short story, or essay (3K maximum word count) for each module. Alternating weeks are dedicated to study, discussion, and writing prompts. At the end of the course, writers will present one revision (5K maximum word count). The price to join THE SEASON OF THE BEAR is $600 with a 10% discount for returning participants.

Materials for THE SEASON OF THE BEAR include:

  • MODULE 1: Bear Tales & Hibernation
  • MODULE 2: The Girl Who Trod on a Loaf & Extremophiles
  • MODULE 3: Baba Yaga & Fairy Tale Architecture
  • MODULE 4: The Boy Who Did Not Know What Fear Was & The Science of Fear
  • MODULE 5: Hades and Persephone & Sinkholes

REGISTRATION: To save a seat for Intersections in Fairy Tales and Myth, send an email request for an invoice to Carina Bissett at cmariebissett@gmail.com. The fee to attend the workshop is $600, payable to cmariebissett@gmail.com via PayPal. There is a $100 non-refundable deposit required to hold your spot with payment in FULL prior to the first class. Returning students receive a 10% discount. Space is limited. Payment plans available.

This series of interactive and generative workshops offers and opportunity to explore fairy tales and other traditional tales, paired with strange and marvelous concepts. You’ll have an opportunity to workshop five new stories or poems, and a portfolio piece you’ve revised based on the workshop discussions. This is a supportive and generative workshop that combines reading, discussion, writing, and feedback.

SCHEDULE

Week 1 (3/6-3/12): Retellings: Into the Dark Woods & Discussion of Module 1 reading material

Week 2 (3/13-3/19): Module 1 Story Workshop

Week 3 (3/20-3/26): Discussion of Module 2 reading material & prompts

Week 4 (3/27-4/2): Module 2 Story Workshop

Week 5 (4/3-4/9): Discussion of Module 3 reading material & prompts

Week 6 (4/10-4/16): Module 3 Story Workshop

Week 7 (4/17-4/23): Discussion of Module 4 reading material & prompts

Week 8 (4/24-4/30): Module 4 Story Workshop

Week 9 (5/1-5/7): Discussion of Module 5 reading material & prompts

Week 10 (5/8-5/14): Module 5 Story Workshop

Week 11 (5/15-5/21): Revision & Submission Strategies

Week 12 (5/22-5/28): Portfolio Presentations

What you get:

  • An introductory lesson exploring the history of the fairy tale, and various approaches to creating new works that draw on this rich and strange tradition.
  • Five lessons that combine a tale and a scientific or cultural concept, each of which includes traditional and contemporary tales, writing prompts, and stimulus information about the paired concept.
  • Twelve face-to-face workshops, delivered via Zoom and facilitated by The Storied Imaginarium’s passionate writers and teachers.
  • Access to a private Facebook group where you can interact with your facilitator and fellow workshop participants.
  • Access to a shared drive to upload your stories for workshopping.
  • An opportunity to share and discuss five of your original stories, plus an extra week when you can resubmit one story you’ve revised on the basis of the workshop discussion.
  • Written and oral feedback on the five stories + portfolio that you submit from both your peers in the workshop, and your workshop facilitator, including advice on potential markets for your work.

Leave a Reply